Envisioning the Global Green New Deal

I’m so honored to be a part of this! From The Arctic Cycle and the 2021 Climate Change Theatre Action:


We asked them to write short plays inspired by the Green New Deal and its global equivalents. We encouraged them to show us what their dream future looks like – and how we might get there. We can’t wait to share the worlds that they have created.

They are from Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, France, Hong Kong, India, Kenya, Korea, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, Uganda, UK, and the U.S., and they represent seven Indigenous Nations. 

Our 50 Climate Change Theatre Action 2021 playwrights are:

Javaad Alipoor • Keith Barker • Elena Belyea • Nicholas Billon • Yolanda Bonnell • Wren Brian • Damon Chua • Paula Cizmar • Hanna Cormick • Nelson Diaz-Marcano • Erika Dickerson-Despenza • Karen Elias • Nathan Ellis • Alister Emerson • Angella Emurwon • Georgina HL Escobar • David Finnigan • Patti Flather • Miranda Rose Hall • Kamil Haque • Whiti Hereaka • Jessica Huang • Faezeh Jalali • Vinicius Jatobá • Aleya Kassam • Nikhil Katara • Himali Kothari • Heidi Kraay • Giancarlo Lauro Abrahan • Camila Lebert • Philip Luswata • Zizi Majid • Mwendwa Mbugua • Mary Kathryn Nagle • Margaret Namulyanga • Yvette Nolan • Corey Payette • Nicole Pschetz • Mark Rigney • Kiana Rivera • Madeline Sayet • Donna-Michelle St. Bernard • Zoe Svendsen • Chris Thorpe • Peterson Toscano • Dylan Van Den Berg • Pat To Yan • Haeweon Yi • Marcus Youssef • Carla Zúñiga.

Follow CCTA on Facebook to find out more about them. The plays will be available in March.

Climate Change Theatre Action 2021 is a worldwide series of readings and performances of short climate change plays presented biennially to coincide with the United Nations COP meetings. CCTA 2021 will take place September 19 – December 18, 2021. Registration to host events opens in March.

Comments are closed.